Stacheair1's blog

Designated Mechanic Examiner (DME) Update

In May 2018, the FAA issued FAA Order 8000.95 CHG 4 Designee Management Policy.  This order is a comprehensive publication establishing policy and procedures for managing all aspects of certain representatives of the Administrator including selection, appointment, orientation, training, oversight, suspension, and termination.



 In January, Flight Standards will begin deploying Designee Management System (DMS) for the following designee types:

  • Designated Mechanic Examiners (DME)
  • Designated Parachute Rigger Examiners (DPRE)
  • Designated Airworthiness Representatives –


Maintenance (DAR-T)

*DPEs will begin deployment in late 2018


NEW Testing Under the ACS Standard

In fulfilling its responsibilities for the airman certification process, the FAA Flight Standards Service (AFS-630) plans, develops, and maintains materials related to airman certification training and testing. The FAA knowledge test measures the minimum standard of aeronautical knowledge required by Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR) part 65. Other materials, such as handbooks in the FAA-H-8083 series, provide guidance to applicants on aeronautical knowledge, risk management, and associated skills.

Documenting Annual Inspection Completion in Aircraft Records

I seems the FAA has changing policies and information on a constant basis concerning documentations of annual inspection and maintenance. FAA-G-8082-19 INSPECTION AUTHORIZATION INFORMATION GUIDE older versions used to say the annual inspection was to be signed off in the “Airframe” records and 100-hour inspection signed off in the engine(s) and propeller(s) records.

Inspections Who is Responsible?

Federal Aviation Regulations (FARs) provide for the inspection of all civil aircraft at specific intervals, depending generally upon the type of operations in which they are engaged, for the purpose of determining their overall condition. Some aircraft must be inspected at least once each 12-calendar months, while inspection is required for others after each 100 hours of flight. In other instances, an aircraft may be inspected in accordance with an inspection system set up to provide for total inspection of the aircraft over a calendar or flight-time period.